Isn’t She Lovely by Lauren Layne
Posted on Sunday, October 18th, 2015 by Angela

Isn’t She Lovely by Lauren LayneIsn't She Lovely (Redemption, #0.5) by Lauren Layne
Published by Random House LLC on October 28th 2013
Genres: New Adult, Romance
Pages: 243
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The rules are clear—until they're broken. Lauren Layne puts a New Adult spin on Pygmalion, also the inspiration for Pretty Woman, and gives the classic love story its edgiest twist yet.

"Who knew that pretending you're not falling for someone would be so much more difficult than pretending that you are?"

Stephanie Kendrick gave up her whole summer to ace her NYU film school screenwriting course, so she's pissed to be stuck with a preppy, spoiled frat boy as her writing partner. Then again, with her piercings, black-rimmed eyes, and Goth wardrobe, Stephanie isn't exactly Ethan Price's type, either. He's probably got his eye on some leggy blonde with a trust fund... or does he?

As the summer scene kicks off in the Hamptons, Ethan is desperate to make his snobbish mother forget the pedigreed girl who broke his heart. While Stephanie's a stretch as a decoy, the right makeover and a pastel cardigan just might do the trick. She may not love the idea of playing Ethan's brainless Barbie girlfriend, but the free rent and luxurious digs make a tempting offer. So does the promise of a ready-made screenplay idea inspired by their charade.

But when Stephanie steps into Ethan's privileged world, the "acting" begins to feel all too real. The kissing and touching that were intended to fool the Hamptons crowd wind up manipulating "them." And Stephanie faces a question she's too afraid to ask: Is Ethan falling for the real her or for the dolled-up princess he wants to see?

This is the type of predictable and rather fluffy story that might have me rolling my eyes if it was written by a less talented author. In Lauren Layne’s extremely capable hands, however, the familiar storyline is infused with such endearing characters, snarky banter, and flowing writing that it engaged me from beginning to end.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Sacked by Jen Frederick
Posted on Sunday, October 11th, 2015 by Angela

Sacked by Jen FrederickSacked by Jen Frederick
Published by Createspace on September 4th 2015
Genres: Love & Romance, New Adult
Pages: 396
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

What he wants he gets... Knox Masters is a quarterback's worst nightmare. Warrior. Champion. And...virgin. Knox knows what he wants--and he gets it. All American Football player? Check. NFL pros scouting him? Check. Now, he's set his sight on two things. The national title. And Ellie Campbell. Sure, she's the sister of his fellow teammate, but that's not going to stop him. Especially not when he's convinced Ellie is the one.

...but he's never met her before.

But Ellie isn't as sure. She's trying to start a new life and she's not interested in a relationship...with anyone. Beside it's not just her cardinal rule of never dating her brother's teammates that keeps her away, but Ellie has a dark secret that would jeopardize everything Knox is pursuing.

Knox has no intention of losing. Ellie has no intention of giving in.

The Off-Campus series by Elle Kennedy and the Game On series by Kristen Callihan are probably the two most popular series in the college sports romance sub-genre. Jen Frederick makes no secret that their work was the inspiration for Sacked, and in many regards it’s a successful homage.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Posted on Monday, October 5th, 2015 by Emily May

Fangirl by Rainbow RowellFangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Published by Macmillan on September 10th 2013
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult
Pages: 448
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

#1 New York Times bestselling author!In Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl, Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life-and she's really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it's what got them through their mother leaving.
Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.
Cath's sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can't let go. She doesn't want to.Now that they're going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn't want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She's got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can't stop worrying about her dad, who's loving and fragile and has never really been alone.
For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?
A New York Times Book Review Notable Children's Book of 2013 A New York Times Best Seller!

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne Star

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
Posted on Wednesday, September 30th, 2015 by Angela

We Were Liars by E. LockhartWe Were Liars by E. Lockhart
Published by Delacorte Press on May 13th 2014
Genres: Mystery & Thriller, New Adult
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart. 
Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

This book review is part of The Book Geek’s Genre Spotlight. It’s where we explore and choose one of the myriad genres. We’ll showcase it by having each Book Geek read and review at least one, but possibly a few books belonging to that month’s chosen genre.

As we fall into September, our spotlight is on Mystery & Thrillers!

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Making Faces by Amy Harmon
Posted on Sunday, September 13th, 2015 by Angela

Making Faces by Amy HarmonMaking Faces by Amy Harmon
Published by Createspace on October 20th 2013
Genres: Friendship, New Adult, Romance, War, Young Adult
Pages: 502
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Ambrose Young was beautiful. He was tall and muscular, with hair that touched his shoulders and eyes that burned right through you. The kind of beautiful that graced the covers of romance novels, and Fern Taylor would know. She'd been reading them since she was thirteen. But maybe because he was so beautiful he was never someone Fern thought she could have...until he wasn't beautiful anymore.

Making Faces is the story of a small town where five young men go off to war, and only one comes back. It is the story of loss. Collective loss, individual loss, loss of beauty, loss of life, loss of identity. It is the tale of one girl's love for a broken boy, and a wounded warrior's love for an unremarkable girl. This is a story of friendship that overcomes heartache, heroism that defies the common definitions, and a modern tale of Beauty and the Beast, where we discover that there is a little beauty and a little beast in all of us.

Read more… »

One StarOne Star

Before We Were Strangers by Renée Carlino
Posted on Wednesday, August 12th, 2015 by Angela

Before We Were Strangers by Renée CarlinoBefore We Were Strangers by Renee Carlino
Published by Atria Books on August 18th 2015
Genres: Friendship, New Adult, Romance
Pages: 320
Format: ARC, digital ARC
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

From the USA TODAY bestselling author of Sweet Thing and Nowhere But Here comes a love story about a Craigslist “missed connection” post that gives two people a second chance at love fifteen years after they were separated in New York City.

To the Green-eyed Lovebird:

We met fifteen years ago, almost to the day, when I moved my stuff into the NYU dorm room next to yours at Senior House.

You called us fast friends. I like to think it was more.

We lived on nothing but the excitement of finding ourselves through music (you were obsessed with Jeff Buckley), photography (I couldn’t stop taking pictures of you), hanging out in Washington Square Park, and all the weird things we did to make money. I learned more about myself that year than any other.

Yet, somehow, it all fell apart. We lost touch the summer after graduation when I went to South America to work for National Geographic. When I came back, you were gone. A part of me still wonders if I pushed you too hard after the wedding…

I didn’t see you again until a month ago. It was a Wednesday. You were rocking back on your heels, balancing on that thick yellow line that runs along the subway platform, waiting for the F train. I didn’t know it was you until it was too late, and then you were gone. Again. You said my name; I saw it on your lips. I tried to will the train to stop, just so I could say hello.

After seeing you, all of the youthful feelings and memories came flooding back to me, and now I’ve spent the better part of a month wondering what your life is like. I might be totally out of my mind, but would you like to get a drink with me and catch up on the last decade and a half?

M

Let me just cut to the chase. I freaking loved this book! The synopsis sounded unique and, given my weakness for second chance love stories, I knew I had a potential winner on my hands. Well, it delivered all that and a bag of chips. I absolutely devoured it. Before We Were Strangers is easily one of my favorite books of 2015.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma
Posted on Sunday, August 9th, 2015 by Chantal

Forbidden by Tabitha SuzumaForbidden by Tabitha Suzuma
Published by Definitions on May 27th 2010
Genres: New Adult, Love & Romance, Family, Social Issues
Pages: 432
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

She is pretty and talented – sweet sixteen and never been kissed. He is seventeen; gorgeous and on the brink of a bright future. And now they have fallen in love. But… they are brother and sister.

Seventeen-year-old Lochan and sixteen-year-old Maya have always felt more like friends than siblings. Together they have stepped in for their alcoholic, wayward mother to take care of their three younger siblings. As defacto parents to the little ones, Lochan and Maya have had to grow up fast. And the stress of their lives—and the way they understand each other so completely—has also also brought them closer than two siblings would ordinarily be. So close, in fact, that they have fallen in love. Their clandestine romance quickly blooms into deep, desperate love. They know their relationship is wrong and cannot possibly continue. And yet, they cannot stop what feels so incredibly right. As the novel careens toward an explosive and shocking finale, only one thing is certain: a love this devastating has no happy ending.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Truth or Beard by Penny Reid
Posted on Sunday, August 2nd, 2015 by Angela

Truth or Beard by Penny ReidTruth or Beard (Winston Brothers, #1) by Penny Reid
Series: Winston Brothers #1
Published by Cipher-Naught on July 21st 2015
Genres: New Adult, Romance
Pages: 370
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Beards, brothers, and bikers! Oh my!

Identical twins Beau and Duane Winston might share the same devastatingly handsome face, but where Beau is outgoing and sociable, Duane is broody and reserved. This is why Jessica James, recent college graduate and perpetual level-headed good girl, has been in naïve and unhealthy infatuation with Beau Winston for most of her life.

His friendly smiles make her tongue-tied and weak-kneed, and she’s never been able to move beyond her childhood crush. Whereas Duane and Jessica have always been adversaries. She can’t stand him, and she’s pretty sure he can’t stand the sight of her…

But after a case of mistaken identity, Jessica finds herself in a massive confusion kerfuffle. Jessica James has spent her whole life paralyzed by the fantasy of Beau and her assumptions of Duane’s disdain; therefore she’s unprepared for the reality that is Duane’s insatiable interest, as well as his hot hands and hot mouth and hotter looks. Not helping Jessica’s muddled mind and good girl sensibilities, Duane seems to have gotten himself in trouble with the local biker gang, the Iron Order.

Certainly, Beau’s magic spell is broken. Yet when Jessica finds herself drawn to the man who was always her adversary, now more dangerous than ever, how much of her level-head heart is she willing to risk?

Series Description
Everyone in Green Valley, Tennessee knows that the six bearded Winston brothers have been imbued with an unfair share of charm and charisma… and are prone to mischief.

Truth or Beard is book #1 in the Winston Brother’s series. Each book is a standalone, full length (110k words), contemporary romantic comedy novel, and follows the romantic exploits and adventures of one of the six Winston Brothers.

Sexy Gandalf, mistaken identity, catastrophic engine failure, and Truth or Dare. Leave it to Penny Reid to whip up such a delightful combination. Right from the start she had me in the palm of her creative and whimsical little hands.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Puddle Jumping by Amber L. Johnson
Posted on Friday, July 24th, 2015 by Chantal

Puddle Jumping by Amber L. JohnsonPuddle Jumping by Amber L. Johnson
Published by Self-Published on June 29th 2014
Genres: New Adult, Mental Illness, Family, Romance, Friendship
Pages: 121
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

When it comes to love there’s no such thing as conventional.

Everyone thinks Colton Neely is special.

Lilly Evans just thinks he’s fascinating.

Once friends when they were younger, their bond is cut short due to her accident prone nature and they go their separate ways. Years later, they meet again and Lilly learns that there is something special about the boy she once knew, but she has no idea what it all means. And she’s not sure if she’s ready to find out.

When he walks through the corridor of her school the first day of her senior year, she knows that it’s time to get to know the real Colton Neely. The more she learns, the deeper she falls.

Their friendship grows into love, even as Colton does not express it in words. But one decision threatens to break down the world that Lilly has tried so hard to integrate into and she must figure out if the relationship can survive if they are apart.

Puddle Jumping took me completely by surprise. I wasn’t sure what to expect going into it, but I certainly didn’t think I would love it as much as I did.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Capture: Elements of Chemistry #3 by Penny Reid
Posted on Saturday, July 11th, 2015 by Angela

Capture: Elements of Chemistry #3 by Penny ReidCapture (Elements of Chemistry #3; Hypothesis, #1.3) by Penny Reid
Series: Elements of Chemistry #3
Published by Cipher-Naught on May 8th 2015
Genres: New Adult, Romance
Pages: 234
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Part 3 of Elements of Chemistry. One week. Manhattan apartment. Super-hot ex-boyfriend.… What’s the worst that could happen?

It’s been nine months since Kaitlyn Parker has seen or heard from Martin Sandeke—nine months and five stages of matter. She’s lived through the worst of first-love heartbreak, and is most certainly stronger (and less likely to hide in science cabinets) than ever before. But now Martin is back. And he wants to be friends. But he’s sending mixed signals to the Bunsen burner in Kaitlyn’s pants. Will Martin re-capture Kaitlyn’s heart? Can Kaitlyn and Martin ever be just friends? Or, despite an abundance of chemistry, are some bonds just too unstable to endure?

“Maybe love, at its essence, is being a mirror for another person—for the good parts and the bad. Perhaps love is simply finding that one person who sees you clearly, cares for you deeply, challenges you and supports you, and subsequently helps you see and be your true self.”

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Social Geeks



 
Geek Tube

 
The Bloggers
Hi! I'm Emily May but feel free to call me Emily. I'm a book lover, beta-reader, and Politics graduate from the North of England.

Hey there! I'm Brandi; I'm a Navy veteran, Army wife, mother, feminist and book lover! My go-to genre would have to be Urban Fantasy, but any fiction is game really.

Read more about us?
Instageek
Following
The Readers Den
Cuddlebuggery
The Midnight Garden
Great Imaginations
The Nocturnal Library
For the Love of Words
Rose Petals
The Broke and the Bookish
Sufficiently Distracted
Xpresso Reads
The Social Potato
Deadly Darlings
Ivy Book Bindings
The YA Kitten
The Book Nookery
It's a Books World
previous post: Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine