Radiance (Wraith Kings #1) by Grace Draven
Posted on Saturday, December 12th, 2015 by Brandi

Radiance (Wraith Kings #1) by Grace DravenRadiance (Wraith Kings, #1) by Grace Draven
Published by Self-Published on January 13th 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Love & Romance, Paranormal Romance
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

THE PRINCE OF NO VALUE
Brishen Khaskem, prince of the Kai, has lived content as the nonessential spare heir to a throne secured many times over. A trade and political alliance between the human kingdom of Gaur and the Kai kingdom of Bast-Haradis requires that he marry a Gauri woman to seal the treaty. Always a dutiful son, Brishen agrees to the marriage and discovers his bride is as ugly as he expected and more beautiful than he could have imagined.
THE NOBLEWOMAN OF NO IMPORTANCE
Ildiko, niece of the Gauri king, has always known her only worth to the royal family lay in a strategic marriage. Resigned to her fate, she is horrified to learn that her intended groom isn’t just a foreign aristocrat but the younger prince of a people neither familiar nor human. Bound to her new husband, Ildiko will leave behind all she’s known to embrace a man shrouded in darkness but with a soul forged by light.
Two people brought together by the trappings of duty and politics will discover they are destined for each other, even as the powers of a hostile kingdom scheme to tear them apart.

Well let me just get comfortable over here in my island – population three – who doesn’t think this book is AHAMZING. Come, come, grab a moss-covered rock to sit on and try not to worry about how dark and lonely it is while I tell you my thoughts. Read more… »

One StarOne Star

Sacked by Jen Frederick
Posted on Sunday, October 11th, 2015 by Angela

Sacked by Jen FrederickSacked by Jen Frederick
Published by Createspace on September 4th 2015
Genres: Love & Romance, New Adult
Pages: 396
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

What he wants he gets... Knox Masters is a quarterback's worst nightmare. Warrior. Champion. And...virgin. Knox knows what he wants--and he gets it. All American Football player? Check. NFL pros scouting him? Check. Now, he's set his sight on two things. The national title. And Ellie Campbell. Sure, she's the sister of his fellow teammate, but that's not going to stop him. Especially not when he's convinced Ellie is the one.

...but he's never met her before.

But Ellie isn't as sure. She's trying to start a new life and she's not interested in a relationship...with anyone. Beside it's not just her cardinal rule of never dating her brother's teammates that keeps her away, but Ellie has a dark secret that would jeopardize everything Knox is pursuing.

Knox has no intention of losing. Ellie has no intention of giving in.

The Off-Campus series by Elle Kennedy and the Game On series by Kristen Callihan are probably the two most popular series in the college sports romance sub-genre. Jen Frederick makes no secret that their work was the inspiration for Sacked, and in many regards it’s a successful homage.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Made for Us by Samantha Chase
Posted on Thursday, October 1st, 2015 by Aimee

I received this book for free from Sourcebooks, Sourcebooks Casablanca in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Made for Us by Samantha ChaseMade for Us (The Shaughnessy Brothers, #1) by Samantha Chase
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on August 4th 2015
Genres: Adult, Fiction, Girls & Women, Love & Romance, Romance
Pages: 384
Format: ARC, print ARC
Source: Sourcebooks, Sourcebooks Casablanca
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

The Shaughnessy brothers—Aiden in particular—have spent the years since their mother’s untimely death taking care of each other and trying to make their father proud. And Aiden has managed pretty well so far. But his father is starting to worry he’s neglected himself. At the age of thirty-four, he is successful and handsome, and he still has no grandchildren!

Aiden’s met plenty of attractive women over the years, but who has the time? It isn’t until he meets Zoe, a designer on one of his jobs, that he starts realizing he wants something more...

Adult contemporary isn’t a genre I normally dive into, but the promise of a hardworking hero and a fierce heroine definitely appealed to me. Made for Us gave me that… but only in the first ten pages. Ultimately, this book ended up turning into an overly dramatic book full of angst.

Read more… »

One StarHalf a Star

I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios
Posted on Saturday, September 26th, 2015 by Emily May

I’ll Meet You There by Heather DemetriosI'll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios
Published by Macmillan on February 3rd 2015
Genres: Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

If seventeen-year-old Skylar Evans were a typical Creek View girl, her future would involve a double-wide trailer, a baby on her hip, and the graveyard shift at Taco Bell. But after graduation, the only thing standing between straightedge Skylar and art school are three minimum-wage months of summer. Skylar can taste the freedom--that is, until her mother loses her job and everything starts coming apart. Torn between her dreams and the people she loves, Skylar realizes everything she's ever worked for is on the line.Nineteen-year-old Josh Mitchell had a different ticket out of Creek View: the Marines. But after his leg is blown off in Afghanistan, he returns home, a shell of the cocksure boy he used to be. What brings Skylar and Josh together is working at the Paradise--a quirky motel off California's dusty Highway 99. Despite their differences, their shared isolation turns into an unexpected friendship and soon, something deeper.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy Reichert
Posted on Sunday, September 6th, 2015 by Angela

The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy ReichertThe Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy E. Reichert
Published by Gallery Books on July 21st 2015
Genres: General, Love & Romance
Pages: 318
Format: ARC, digital ARC
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

YOU'VE GOT MAIL meets HOW TO EAT A CUPCAKE in this delightful novel about a talented chef and the food critic who brings down her restaurant—whose chance meeting turns into a delectable romance of mistaken identities.

In downtown Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Lou works tirelessly to build her beloved yet struggling French restaurant, Luella’s, into a success. She cheerfully balances her demanding business and even more demanding fiancé…until the morning she discovers him in the buff—with an intern.

Witty yet gruff British transplant Al is keeping himself employed and entertained by writing scathing reviews of local restaurants in the Milwaukee newspaper under a pseudonym. When an anonymous tip sends him to Luella’s, little does he know he’s arrived on the worst day of the chef’s life. The review practically writes itself: underdone fish, scorched sauce, distracted service—he unleashes his worst.

The day that Al’s mean-spirited review of Luella’s runs, the two cross paths in a pub: Lou drowning her sorrows, and Al celebrating his latest publication. As they chat, Al playfully challenges Lou to show him the best of Milwaukee and she’s game—but only if they never discuss work, which Al readily agrees to. As they explore the city’s local delicacies and their mutual attraction, Lou’s restaurant faces closure, while Al’s column gains popularity. It’s only a matter of time before the two fall in love…but when the truth comes out, can Lou overlook the past to chase her future?

Set in the lovely, quirky heart of Wisconsin, THE COINCIDENCE OF COCONUT CAKE is a charming love story of misunderstandings, mistaken identity, and the power of food to bring two people together.

3 teacups?

I struggled with rating The Coincidence of Coconut Cake because my opinion depends on how I categorize the book.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarHalf a Star

The Life List by Lori Nelson Spielman
Posted on Friday, August 28th, 2015 by Chantal

The Life List by Lori Nelson SpielmanThe Life List by Lori Nelson Spielman
Published by Bantam on July 2nd 2013
Genres: Love & Romance, Family, Friendship
Pages: 368
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

In this utterly charming debut — one woman sets out to complete her old list of childhood goals, and finds that her lifelong dreams lead her down a path she never expects.

1. Go to Paris
2. Perform live, on a super big stage
3. Have a baby, maybe two
4. Fall in love

Brett Bohlinger has forgotten all about the list of life goals she’d written as a naïve teenager. In fact, at thirty-four, Brett seems to have it all—a plum job at her family’s multimillion-dollar company and a spacious loft with her irresistibly handsome boyfriend. But when her beloved mother, Elizabeth, dies, Brett’s world is turned upside down. Rather than simply naming her daughter the new CEO of Bohlinger Cosmetics, Elizabeth’s will comes with one big stipulation: Brett must fulfill the list of childhood dreams she made so long ago.

Grief-stricken, Brett can barely make sense of her mother’s decision. Some of her old hopes seem impossible. How can she possibly have a relationship with a father who died seven years ago? Other dreams (Be an awesome teacher!) would require her to reinvent her entire future. For each goal attempted, her mother has left behind a bittersweet letter, offering words of wisdom, warmth, and—just when Brett needs it—tough love.

As Brett struggles to complete her abandoned life list, one thing becomes clear: Sometimes life’s sweetest gifts can be found in the most unexpected places.

Welcome to The Book Geek’s monthly feature, affectionately called The Genre Spotlight. It’s where we explore and choose one of the myriad genres. We’ll showcase it by having each Book Geek read and review at least one, but possibly a few books belonging to that month’s chosen genre. 
We’re hoping to expand our reading horizons to genre’s we haven’t or have barely read, and, hopefully, usher in gems our lives have been missing out on.

For sizzling August, our spotlight is on Romance. 

Read more… »

One StarOne Star

Sustained by Emma Chase
Posted on Thursday, August 27th, 2015 by Angela

Sustained by Emma ChaseSustained (The Legal Briefs, #2) by Emma Chase
Published by Gallery Books on August 25th 2015
Genres: Family, Love & Romance, Romance
Pages: 272
Format: ARC, digital ARC
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

A knight in tarnished armor is still a knight.

When you’re a defense attorney in Washington, DC, you see firsthand how hard life can be, and that sometimes the only way to survive is to be harder. I, Jake Becker, have a reputation for being cold, callous, and intimidating—and that suits me just fine. In fact, it’s necessary when I’m breaking down a witness on the stand.

Complications don’t work for me—I’m a “need-to-know” type of man. If you’re my client, tell me the basic facts. If you’re my date, stick to what will turn you on. I’m not a therapist or Prince Charming—and I don’t pretend to be.

Then Chelsea McQuaid and her six orphaned nieces and nephews came along and complicated the ever-loving hell out of my life. Now I'm going to Mommy & Me classes, One Direction concerts, the emergency room, and arguing cases in the principal's office.

Chelsea’s too sweet, too innocent, and too gorgeous for her own good. She tries to be tough, but she’s not. She needs someone to help her, defend her…and the kids.

And that — that, I know how to do.

Emma Chase has topped herself. I never thought I’d say this but I loved Sustained more than Tangled, and that’s saying a lot. In my opinion it’s been a rather mediocre year for romances. There have been several 2015 releases I’ve enjoyed, but only a handful that I’ve absolutely loved. And even then there’s usually something I find fault with. Maybe there’s a dreaded case of insta-love in the beginning. The ending is too rushed. The plot is a bit too predictable. You get the picture. But this book? I wouldn’t change a thing about this book. It’s absolute perfection and my favorite book of 2015 so far.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Unblocked – Episode Five by Marni Mann
Posted on Tuesday, August 25th, 2015 by Angela

Unblocked – Episode Five by Marni MannUnblocked - Episode Five (Timber Towers Series Book 5) by Marni Mann
Published by Booktrope on August 19th 2015
Genres: Erotica, Love & Romance, Romance
Format: ARC, digital ARC
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Derek Block needs to protect those he cares about.
Frankie Jordan fears the loss of those she loves.
Darkness drives them.
But could it drive them apart?
This is Episode Five, the final Episode in the Timber Towers Series.

This is the 5th and final episode in the Tower Timbers series and it’s hard to say goodbye to these characters I’ve grown to love. Derek Block has been an unexpected dirty talking fantasy inducer from the very first book. Who knew I’d find flannel so sexy or that I’d be shopping for a pink ivory door? Frankie is one lucky lady. But I digress.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson
Posted on Wednesday, August 19th, 2015 by Chantal

The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. PearsonThe Heart of Betrayal Published by Henry Holt and Co. on July 7th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic, Love & Romance, Royalty, Action & Adventure
Pages: 470
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Intrigue abounds in this hotly anticipated sequel to The Kiss of Deception!

Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape. Desperate to save her life, Lia’s erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komizar that she has the gift, and the Komizar’s interest in Lia is greater than anyone could have foreseen.

Meanwhile, nothing is straightforward: there’s Rafe, who lied to Lia, but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom Lia always believed to be barbarians. Now that she lives amongst them, however, she realizes that may be far from the truth. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her sense of self, Lia must make powerful choices that will affect her country… and her own destiny.

It should be noted that I wasn’t the biggest fan of The Kiss of Deception but I found the ending so promising that I really wanted to give this series another chance.

If you loved The Kiss of Deception, don’t let this review make you anxious, I’m pretty sure you will like this one more than the first. If you are like me however, and thought TKoD was very meh then this review is for you. To summarize: I was hoping THoB would remedy many things I disliked in TKoD but that didn’t happen unfortunately.

Warning: This review contains spoilers for the first installment in the Remnant Chronicles series, The Kiss of Deception.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarHalf a Star

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle
Posted on Friday, August 14th, 2015 by Aimee

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-DoyleThe Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle
Published by Corgi Childrens on August 18th 2015
Genres: Family, Fantasy & Magic, Friendship, Love & Romance, Mystery & Thriller, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 288
Format: ARC, digital ARC
Source: Penguin
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

It's the accident season, the same time every year. Bones break, skin tears, bruises bloom.

The accident season has been part of seventeen-year-old Cara's life for as long as she can remember. Towards the end of October, foreshadowed by the deaths of many relatives before them, Cara's family becomes inexplicably accident-prone. They banish knives to locked drawers, cover sharp table edges with padding, switch off electrical items - but injuries follow wherever they go, and the accident season becomes an ever-growing obsession and fear.

But why are they so cursed? And how can they break free?

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne Star

Social Geeks



 
Geek Tube

 
The Bloggers
Hi! I'm Emily May but feel free to call me Emily. I'm a book lover, beta-reader, and Politics graduate from the North of England.

Hey there! I'm Brandi; I'm a Navy veteran, Army wife, mother, feminist and book lover! My go-to genre would have to be Urban Fantasy, but any fiction is game really.

Read more about us?
Instageek
Following
The Readers Den
Cuddlebuggery
The Midnight Garden
Great Imaginations
The Nocturnal Library
For the Love of Words
Rose Petals
The Broke and the Bookish
Sufficiently Distracted
Xpresso Reads
The Social Potato
Deadly Darlings
Ivy Book Bindings
The YA Kitten
The Book Nookery
It's a Books World
previous post: Moth by Daniel Arenson