The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy Reichert
Posted on Sunday, September 6th, 2015 by Angela

The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy ReichertThe Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy E. Reichert
Published by Gallery Books on July 21st 2015
Genres: General, Love & Romance
Pages: 318
Format: ARC, digital ARC
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

YOU'VE GOT MAIL meets HOW TO EAT A CUPCAKE in this delightful novel about a talented chef and the food critic who brings down her restaurant—whose chance meeting turns into a delectable romance of mistaken identities.

In downtown Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Lou works tirelessly to build her beloved yet struggling French restaurant, Luella’s, into a success. She cheerfully balances her demanding business and even more demanding fiancé…until the morning she discovers him in the buff—with an intern.

Witty yet gruff British transplant Al is keeping himself employed and entertained by writing scathing reviews of local restaurants in the Milwaukee newspaper under a pseudonym. When an anonymous tip sends him to Luella’s, little does he know he’s arrived on the worst day of the chef’s life. The review practically writes itself: underdone fish, scorched sauce, distracted service—he unleashes his worst.

The day that Al’s mean-spirited review of Luella’s runs, the two cross paths in a pub: Lou drowning her sorrows, and Al celebrating his latest publication. As they chat, Al playfully challenges Lou to show him the best of Milwaukee and she’s game—but only if they never discuss work, which Al readily agrees to. As they explore the city’s local delicacies and their mutual attraction, Lou’s restaurant faces closure, while Al’s column gains popularity. It’s only a matter of time before the two fall in love…but when the truth comes out, can Lou overlook the past to chase her future?

Set in the lovely, quirky heart of Wisconsin, THE COINCIDENCE OF COCONUT CAKE is a charming love story of misunderstandings, mistaken identity, and the power of food to bring two people together.

3 teacups?

I struggled with rating The Coincidence of Coconut Cake because my opinion depends on how I categorize the book.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarHalf a Star

The Paper Swan by Leylah Attar
Posted on Thursday, September 3rd, 2015 by Angela

The Paper Swan by Leylah AttarThe Paper Swan by Leylah Attar
Published by Pitch73 Publishing on August 4th 2015
Genres: Fiction, General, Romantic Suspense
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

They say it takes 21 days to form a habit. They lie. For 21 days she held on. But on Day 22, she would have given anything for the sweet slumber of death. Because on Day 22, she realizes that her only way out means certain death for one of the two men she loves.

A haunting tale of passion, loss, and redemption, The Paper Swan is a darkly intense yet heartwarming love story, textured with grit, intrigue, and suspense.

A full-length, standalone novel, intended for mature audiences due to violence, sex and language. Subject matter may be disturbing for some readers. Please note: this is not a love triangle.

It was a good day for Louboutins. I hadn’t planned on wearing statement heels on the runway to death but if this was it, if I was going to be killed by some random psycho with a thirst for blood, what better way to go down than with red-soled “fuck yous” to my murderer?

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne Star

A Whole New World by Liz Braswell
Posted on Monday, July 20th, 2015 by Emily May

A Whole New World by Liz BraswellA Whole New World by Liz Braswell
Published by Disney Press on September 1st 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Fairy Tales & Folklore, General, Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

What if Aladdin had never found the lamp? This first book in the A Twisted Tale line will explore a dark and daring version of Disney's Aladdin. When Jafar steals the Genie's lamp, he uses his first two wishes to become sultan and the most powerful sorcerer in the world. Agrabah lives in fear, waiting for his third and final wish.To stop the power-mad ruler, Aladdin and the deposed princess Jasmine must unite the people of Agrabah in rebellion. But soon their fight for freedom threatens to tear the kingdom apart in a costly civil war. What happens next? A Street Rat becomes a leader. A princess becomes a revolutionary. And readers will never look at the story of Aladdin in the same way again.

Read more… »

One Star

Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine
Posted on Friday, July 10th, 2015 by Emily May

Ink and Bone by Rachel CaineInk and Bone by Rachel Caine
Published by Allison & Busby on July 7th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, General, Fantasy & Magic
Pages: 320
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Rachel Caine rewrites history, creating a dangerous world where the Great Library of Alexandria has survived the test of time. In 48 AD, a fire set by the troops of Julius Caesar destroyed much of the Great Library of Alexandria. It was the first of several disasters that resulted in the destruction of the accumulated knowledge of the ancient world. But what if the fire had been stopped? What would the Library have become? Fast forward: the Great Library is now a separate country, protected by its own standing army. It has grown into a vast power, with unquestioned and unrivalled supremacy. Jess Brightwell, seventeen and very smart, with a gift for mechanical engineering, has been sent into the Great Library as a spy for his criminal family. Magical spells and riots abound in this epic new YA series.

 

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Never Always Sometimes by Adi Alsaid
Posted on Sunday, July 5th, 2015 by Emily May

Never Always Sometimes by Adi AlsaidNever Always Sometimes by Adi Alsaid
Published by Harlequin on August 1st 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Social Issues, Friendship, Love & Romance, Dating & Sex, General
Pages: 304
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Never date your best friend 
Always be original 
Sometimes rules are meant to be broken 
Best friends Dave and Julia were determined to never be cliché high school kids—the ones who sit at the same lunch table every day, dissecting the drama from homeroom and plotting their campaigns for prom king and queen. They even wrote their own Never List of everything they vowed they'd never, ever do in high school. 
Some of the rules have been easy to follow, like #5, never die your hair a color of the rainbow, or #7, never hook up with a teacher. But Dave has a secret: he's broken rule #8, never pine silently after someone for the entirety of high school. It's either that or break rule #10, never date your best friend. Dave has loved Julia for as long as he can remember. 
Julia is beautiful, wild and impetuous. So when she suggests they do every Never on the list, Dave is happy to play along. He even dyes his hair an unfortunate shade of green. It starts as a joke, but then a funny thing happens: Dave and Julia discover that by skipping the clichés, they've actually been missing out on high school. And maybe even on love.

Honestly? I finished this book a week ago and really can’t find anything substantial to say about it. I’ll try to articulate what makes this book so dull and forgettable.

Never Always Sometimes is a wannabe John Green book. It tries to follow in JG’s footsteps by creating overly quirky, intelligent characters caricatures who do not resemble any teenagers I’ve ever known. Except, unlike Green’s works and others who have tried to do similar things, this book isn’t particularly well-written or compelling.

These boring friends-turned-lovers characters do not stand out and, in my opinion, don’t offer anything that makes me want to continue turning pages. If I didn’t have an ARC, I wouldn’t have bothered to force my way through it. It was one of those books that I would put down and genuinely not want to pick up again. I only gave it two stars because one star feels like a passionately negative rating and there was nothing to elicit passion here.

Even though I wasn’t crazy in love with Eleanor & Park like many other readers, I still admit that this book just pales in comparison – feeling cheesy and completely unremarkable alongside Rowell’s cute, honest and sometimes dark romance.

The plot is about Dave and Julia who vowed never to fall into any of the regular high school cliches. Now, though, they’re seniors and decide to throw their rules out of the window and find out exactly what they’ve been missing out on. It emerges fairly early that Dave has been in love with Julia forever and he now has a chance to break the ultimate rule – #10, never date your best friend.

I reached the ending with a sigh of relief and without feeling a single emotion for these characters. I think if you want a cute teen romance built on friendship then you should read Eleanor & Park instead.

One StarOne Star

Social Geeks



 
Geek Tube

 
The Bloggers
Hi! I'm Emily May but feel free to call me Emily. I'm a book lover, beta-reader, and Politics graduate from the North of England.

Hey there! I'm Brandi; I'm a Navy veteran, Army wife, mother, feminist and book lover! My go-to genre would have to be Urban Fantasy, but any fiction is game really.

Read more about us?
Instageek
Following
The Readers Den
Cuddlebuggery
The Midnight Garden
Great Imaginations
The Nocturnal Library
For the Love of Words
Rose Petals
The Broke and the Bookish
Sufficiently Distracted
Xpresso Reads
The Social Potato
Deadly Darlings
Ivy Book Bindings
The YA Kitten
The Book Nookery
It's a Books World
previous post: The Book of Ivy by Amy Engel