Blood and Salt by Kim Liggett
Posted on Thursday, October 29th, 2015 by Aimee

Blood and Salt by Kim LiggettBlood and Salt by Kim Liggett
Series: Blood and Salt #1
Published by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers on September 22nd 2015
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Fiction, Horror, Mystery & Thriller, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: ARC, digital ARC
Source: Penguin, G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

“When you fall in love, you will carve out your heart and throw it into the deepest ocean. You will be all in—blood and salt.”

These are the last words Ash Larkin hears before her mother returns to the spiritual commune she escaped long ago. But when Ash follows her to Quivira, Kansas, something sinister and ancient waits among the rustling cornstalks of this village lost to time.

Ash is plagued by memories of her ancestor, Katia, which harken back to the town’s history of unrequited love and murder, alchemy and immortality. Charming traditions soon give way to a string of gruesome deaths, and Ash feels drawn to Dane, a forbidden boy with secrets of his own.

As the community prepares for a ceremony five hundred years in the making, Ash must fight not only to save her mother, but herself—and discover the truth about Quivira before it’s too late. Before she’s all in—blood and salt.

*Warning: Prepare yourselves for swearing.

There are books that I want to cherish, but end up wanting to throw against a brick wall–Blood and Salt is one of those books. Despite this, I’m actually not sure if I want to recommend it to everyone, or tell you to let it burn in the pits of your TBRs.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarHalf a Star

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
Posted on Thursday, October 15th, 2015 by Chantal

The Graveyard Book by Neil GaimanThe Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
Published by HarperCollins on September 30th 2008
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Death & Dying, Fairy Tales & Folklore, Friendship
Pages: 312
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

After the grisly murder of his entire family, a toddler wanders into a graveyard where the ghosts and other supernatural residents agree to raise him as one of their own.

Nobody Owens, known to his friends as Bod, is a normal boy. He would be completely normal if he didn’t live in a sprawling graveyard, being raised and educated by ghosts, with a solitary guardian who belongs to neither the world of the living nor of the dead. There are dangers and adventures in the graveyard for a boy. But if Bod leaves the graveyard, then he will come under attack from the man Jack—who has already killed Bod’s family…

Beloved master storyteller Neil Gaiman returns with a luminous new novel for the audience that embraced his New York Times bestselling modern classic Coraline. Magical, terrifying, and filled with breathtaking adventures, The Graveyard Book is sure to enthrall readers of all ages.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Silver-Tongued Devil (Sabina Kane, #4) by Jaye Wells
Posted on Wednesday, October 7th, 2015 by Brandi

Silver-Tongued Devil (Sabina Kane, #4)  by Jaye WellsSilver-Tongued Devil by Jaye Wells
Series: Sabina Kane #4
on January 5th 2012
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 405
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Now that the threat of war has passed, Sabina Kane is ready to focus on the future. Her relationship with Adam Lazarus is getting stronger and she's helping her sister, Maisie, overcome the trauma of her captivity in New Orleans. Even Giguhl is managing to stay out of trouble thanks to the arrival of Pussy Willow and his new roller derby team. But as much as Sabina wants to feel hopeful about the future, part of her doesn't trust that peace is possible.

Her suspicions are confirmed when a string of sadistic murders threaten to stall treaty negotiations between the mages and the vampires. Sabina pitches in to find the killer, but her investigation soon leads her down dark paths that have her questioning everyone she thought she could trust. And the closer she gets to the killer, the more Sabina begins to suspect this is one foe she may not be able to kill.

I tend to write my reviews based on how I felt during a story versus adequately breaking down devises and such (not always, but often enough). When I rate books as five stars it is because I have been affected somehow by the book, or series, and know that I will read it again and again, or even have a hard time moving onto the next on my TBR list.

This is one of those series for me. I love it! Normally I do a re-read of a series if I hadn’t read it recently, but I didn’t want to wait before jumping into to this, and I’m happy to say that it isn’t really necessary because Wells does a great job of reminding you what had happened prior. The only thing I can’t quite remember is what happened to the female demon, and in fairness, I have a horrific memory. Legitimate memory issues, but other than that I loved every second of this book. Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin
Posted on Sunday, September 20th, 2015 by Brandi

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. JemisinThe Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin
on February 25th 2010
Genres: Epic Fantasy, Fantasy & Magic, Fiction, Friendship, Paranormal Romance
Pages: 427
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Yeine Darr is an outcast from the barbarian north. But when her mother dies under mysterious circumstances, she is summoned to the majestic city of Sky. There, to her shock, Yeine is named an heiress to the king. But the throne of the Hundred Thousand Kingdoms is not easily won, and Yeine is thrust into a vicious power struggle.

What a strange book. When I try to reason out why I enjoyed it I kind of can, but then I start thinking about how to explain it and it seems like my reasons fall apart. I enjoyed it enough to read late and put aside my school work to get just one more chapter in, but yet I’m not over the moon about it. Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne Star

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas
Posted on Monday, September 7th, 2015 by Emily May

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. MaasQueen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing on September 1st 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic
Pages: 576
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. Now she returns to the empire to confront the shadows of her past ... The fourth breathtaking instalment in the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series.
Bloodthirsty for revenge on the two men responsible for destroying her life, and desperate to find out if the prince and his captain are safe, Celaena returns to Rifthold, the seat of so much evil. She has accepted her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, there are dark truths to learn and debts to be paid. Aelin must stay hidden beneath her assassin's hood and draw on her mortal strength as Celaena to prevent the King of Adarlan from tearing her world apart. Only then can she fight for her people.
Readers will be held rapt as Celaena's story builds to an agonising crescendo, packed with heart-pounding action and swoon-worthy romance.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne Star

A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston
Posted on Saturday, August 29th, 2015 by Aimee

I received this book for free from Disney, Disney Hyperion in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Thousand Nights by E.K. JohnstonA Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston
Published by Disney Hyperion on October 6th 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Fantasy & Magic, Fiction, Retelling, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: ARC, digital ARC
Source: Disney, Disney Hyperion
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Lo-Melkhiin killed three hundred girls before he came to her village, looking for a wife. When she sees the dust cloud on the horizon, she knows he has arrived. She knows he will want the loveliest girl: her sister. She vows she will not let her be next.

And so she is taken in her sister's place, and she believes death will soon follow. Lo-Melkhiin's court is a dangerous palace filled with pretty things: intricate statues with wretched eyes, exquisite threads to weave the most beautiful garments. She sees everything as if for the last time.But the first sun rises and sets, and she is not dead. Night after night, Lo-Melkhiin comes to her and listens to the stories she tells, and day after day she is awoken by the sunrise. Exploring the palace, she begins to unlock years of fear that have tormented and silenced a kingdom. Lo-Melkhiin was not always a cruel ruler. Something went wrong.

Far away, in their village, her sister is mourning. Through her pain, she calls upon the desert winds, conjuring a subtle unseen magic, and something besides death stirs the air.

Back at the palace, the words she speaks to Lo-Melkhiin every night are given a strange life of their own. Little things, at first: a dress from home, a vision of her sister. With each tale she spins, her power grows. Soon she dreams of bigger, more terrible magic: power enough to save a king, if she can put an end to the rule of a monster.

They were burning up, and they didn’t even know they were afire.

An elegantly written novel with a lovely story, A Thousand Nights is a book perfect for all readers looking for an engrossing read.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson
Posted on Wednesday, August 19th, 2015 by Chantal

The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. PearsonThe Heart of Betrayal Published by Henry Holt and Co. on July 7th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic, Love & Romance, Royalty, Action & Adventure
Pages: 470
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Intrigue abounds in this hotly anticipated sequel to The Kiss of Deception!

Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape. Desperate to save her life, Lia’s erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komizar that she has the gift, and the Komizar’s interest in Lia is greater than anyone could have foreseen.

Meanwhile, nothing is straightforward: there’s Rafe, who lied to Lia, but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom Lia always believed to be barbarians. Now that she lives amongst them, however, she realizes that may be far from the truth. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her sense of self, Lia must make powerful choices that will affect her country… and her own destiny.

It should be noted that I wasn’t the biggest fan of The Kiss of Deception but I found the ending so promising that I really wanted to give this series another chance.

If you loved The Kiss of Deception, don’t let this review make you anxious, I’m pretty sure you will like this one more than the first. If you are like me however, and thought TKoD was very meh then this review is for you. To summarize: I was hoping THoB would remedy many things I disliked in TKoD but that didn’t happen unfortunately.

Warning: This review contains spoilers for the first installment in the Remnant Chronicles series, The Kiss of Deception.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarHalf a Star

Crossed by Eliza Crewe
Posted on Sunday, August 16th, 2015 by Brandi

Crossed by Eliza CreweCrossed by Eliza Crewe
Series: Soul Eaters
Published by Self-Published on August 17, 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic, Friendship, Young Adult
Pages: 235
Format: digital ARC
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

War is here.

Full-scale war has erupted between the Crusaders and demons and even Chi has to admit isn’t going well. Like any sensible rat, Meda’s eager to abandon the sinking ship but, unfortunately, her friends aren't nearly as pragmatic. Instead, Meda’s forced to try to keep them all alive until the dust settles.

As the Crusaders take more and more drastic measures, the tables turn and Meda suddenly finds herself in the role of voice of sanity. No one is more horrified than she is. When old enemies reappear as new allies and old friends become new enemies Meda has to decide—again—whose side she’s really on.

And then the Crusaders decide that Meda should go to Hell. Literally.

Can’t a monster ever catch a break?

There is something about an unapologetic character that gets me every time. Meda is consistently and completely amazing in all three books, and this conclusion was perfect for her story.

Meda and Jo are the ultimate in friendship goals. Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle
Posted on Friday, August 14th, 2015 by Aimee

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-DoyleThe Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle
Published by Corgi Childrens on August 18th 2015
Genres: Family, Fantasy & Magic, Friendship, Love & Romance, Mystery & Thriller, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 288
Format: ARC, digital ARC
Source: Penguin
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

It's the accident season, the same time every year. Bones break, skin tears, bruises bloom.

The accident season has been part of seventeen-year-old Cara's life for as long as she can remember. Towards the end of October, foreshadowed by the deaths of many relatives before them, Cara's family becomes inexplicably accident-prone. They banish knives to locked drawers, cover sharp table edges with padding, switch off electrical items - but injuries follow wherever they go, and the accident season becomes an ever-growing obsession and fear.

But why are they so cursed? And how can they break free?

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne Star

Moth by Daniel Arenson
Posted on Thursday, August 13th, 2015 by JennyJen

Moth by Daniel ArensonMoth (The Moth Saga #1) by Daniel Arenson
Published by Moonclipse on October 22nd 2013
Genres: Epic Fantasy, Fantasy & Magic
Pages: 352
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

They say the world used to turn. They say that night would follow day in an endless dance. They say that dawn rose, dusk fell, and we worshiped both sun and stars.

That was a long time ago.

The dance has died. The world has fallen still. We float through the heavens, one half always in light, one half always in shadow. Like the moth of our forests, one wing white and the other black, we are torn.

My people are the fortunate. We live in daylight, blessed in the warmth of the sun. Yet across the line, the others lurk in eternal night, afraid... and alone in the dark.

I was born in the light. I was sent into darkness. This is my story.

This is a good book. I wasn’t sure what to expect of Moth, but with that kickass synopsis (seriously, did you read that frikkin thing?), I had an inkling that I would like it. And I did.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Social Geeks



 
Geek Tube

 
The Bloggers
Hi! I'm Emily May but feel free to call me Emily. I'm a book lover, beta-reader, and Politics graduate from the North of England.

Hey there! I'm Brandi; I'm a Navy veteran, Army wife, mother, feminist and book lover! My go-to genre would have to be Urban Fantasy, but any fiction is game really.

Read more about us?
Instageek
Following
The Readers Den
Cuddlebuggery
The Midnight Garden
Great Imaginations
The Nocturnal Library
For the Love of Words
Rose Petals
The Broke and the Bookish
Sufficiently Distracted
Xpresso Reads
The Social Potato
Deadly Darlings
Ivy Book Bindings
The YA Kitten
The Book Nookery
It's a Books World
previous post: Before We Were Strangers by Renée Carlino