An Infinite Number of Parallel Universes by Randy Ribay
Posted on Tuesday, November 10th, 2015 by Aimee

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

An Infinite Number of Parallel Universes by Randy RibayAn Infinite Number of Parallel Universes by Randy Ribay
Published by Merit Press on October 16th 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Friendship, Gay, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 240
Format: ARC, digital ARC
Source: the author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

As their senior year approaches, four diverse friends joined by their weekly Dungeons & Dragons game struggle to figure out real life. Archie's trying to cope with the lingering effects of his parents' divorce, Mari's considering an opportunity to contact her biological mother, Dante's working up the courage to come out to his friends, and Sam's clinging to a failing relationship. The four eventually embark on a cross-country road trip in an attempt to solve--or to avoid--their problems.

Told in the narrative style of Akira Kurosawa's RASHOMAN, AN INFINITE NUMBER OF PARALLEL UNIVERSES is at turns geeky, funny, and lyrical as it tells a story about that time in life when friends need each other to become more than just people that hang out.

You know those books that are obviously flawed, but you still end up enjoying immensely? An Infinite Number of Parallel Universes is one of those books. It wasn’t a perfect book by any means, but it’s the kind of book that’ll bring a smile to your face on a rainy (or sunny) day.

One of the main things that’ll make you smile, of course, is the quirky cast of characters. Archie, Mari, Dante and Sam are all huge gaming geeks, with different and totally distinct personalities. They’re totally diverse physically and in terms of background as well–bonus points!

If there’s one thing they have in common, though, it’s that they’re all realistically portrayed. Each character has their own problems, insecurities, and little things that make them happy. They all have their lives outside of their little gaming circle, lives that they’re not always happy and confident with. But they try really hard to cope.

The best part about them is that they all grew throughout the course of the book. To be honest, at first I wanted to hit most of the characters upside the head at the beginning–Archie and Sam especially were huge assholes–but as we got to know them, I understood them better. They understood themselves better, too.

The characters’ relationship grew along with them, too. At first, it’s pretty obvious that the characters aren’t really close, but after they had their little road trip together, they grew into a pretty tight group of four quirky kids. (Although the romance grew in the opposite direction for me. I liked it more when it was just starting out.)

I did have a few gripes about the book, though. For one, the writing was just a tad too simple for me. Sentence structures hardly had any variation, and it made me feel disconnected from the story at some points. While I knew I understood a lot of what the characters felt, I didn’t feel them myself, you know?

The story was pretty typical, with a bit more charm and less of the “I’ve seen that before” feeling. But the lack of that feeling comes with a price–a few scenes seemed to come out of nowhere and were a bit random. At times, they bordered on unrealistic.

Overall, I’d still recommend An Infinite Number of Parallel Universes for anyone looking for a quick road-trip read about geeks and their geeky relationships.

giveaway

ONE lucky winner will receive a HARDCOVER copy of An Infinite Number of Parallel Universes! This giveaway is open internationally. For full terms and conditions, check out the Rafflecopter.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Blood and Salt by Kim Liggett
Posted on Thursday, October 29th, 2015 by Aimee

Blood and Salt by Kim LiggettBlood and Salt by Kim Liggett
Series: Blood and Salt #1
Published by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers on September 22nd 2015
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Fiction, Horror, Mystery & Thriller, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: ARC, digital ARC
Source: Penguin, G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

“When you fall in love, you will carve out your heart and throw it into the deepest ocean. You will be all in—blood and salt.”

These are the last words Ash Larkin hears before her mother returns to the spiritual commune she escaped long ago. But when Ash follows her to Quivira, Kansas, something sinister and ancient waits among the rustling cornstalks of this village lost to time.

Ash is plagued by memories of her ancestor, Katia, which harken back to the town’s history of unrequited love and murder, alchemy and immortality. Charming traditions soon give way to a string of gruesome deaths, and Ash feels drawn to Dane, a forbidden boy with secrets of his own.

As the community prepares for a ceremony five hundred years in the making, Ash must fight not only to save her mother, but herself—and discover the truth about Quivira before it’s too late. Before she’s all in—blood and salt.

*Warning: Prepare yourselves for swearing.

There are books that I want to cherish, but end up wanting to throw against a brick wall–Blood and Salt is one of those books. Despite this, I’m actually not sure if I want to recommend it to everyone, or tell you to let it burn in the pits of your TBRs.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarHalf a Star

Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan and Deborah Biancotti
Posted on Sunday, September 27th, 2015 by Chantal

Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan and Deborah BiancottiZeroes Published by Simon Pulse on September 29th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Urban Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Friendship
Pages: 560
Format: ARC, digital ARC
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Ethan, aka “Scam,” has a way with words. When he opens his mouth, whatever he wants you to hear comes out. But Ethan isn’t just a smooth talker. He has a unique ability to say things he doesn’t consciously even know. Sometimes the voice helps, but sometimes it hurts – like now, when the voice has lied and has landed Ethan in a massive mess. So now Ethan needs help. And he needs to go to the last people who would ever want to help him – his former group of friends, the self-named “zeros” who also all possess similarly double-edged abilities, and who are all angry at Ethan for their own respective reasons. Brought back together by Scam’s latest mischief, they find themselves entangled in an epic, whirlwind adventure packed with as much interpersonal drama as mind-bending action.

It’s always a great experience when you go into a book with no expectations and it turns out you really enjoy it. That’s what happened to me with Zeroes . I hadn’t read a single review beforehand, hadn’t read anything by Scott Westerfeld (though I think I will remedy that now) and have never even heard of the other two authors.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Sweet Obsession by J. Daniels
Posted on Tuesday, September 22nd, 2015 by Angela

image003
 

 

25709854

Sweet Obsession by J. Daniels
Series: Sweet Addiction #3
Published on September 22nd 2015

Genres: Romance, Erotica
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, J. Daniels.

Author’s note: Sweet Obsession can be read as a standalone novel.

Everyone knows Brooke Wicks loves to have a good time. She’s not interested in getting serious, settling down, or limiting herself to one man. So when she meets the sexy, irresistible Mason King, she sees another opportunity to let loose and go wild. But the gorgeous Aussie isn’t interested in just a quick fling with Brooke, and if she wants to get into his bed, she’s going to have to do it on his terms.

Loving fast and hard has always been Mason’s philosophy. He doesn’t want a meaningless connection, he wants it all, and he wants it with Brooke. When she makes her one desire known—to hit it and quit it—Mason wages a plan to ensure Brooke keeps coming back for more. Or so he hopes.

Getting her attention was the easy part. Keeping it might be damn near impossible.

Sweet Obsession is where the Sweet Addiction series meets the Alabama Summer series.

 

Giveaway

Sweet Addiction was my very first taste of erotica. The combination of baking and sex, sugar and spice made it the perfect introduction to the genre, and I jokingly blame J. Daniels for corrupting my sweet, innocent mind. I quickly gobbled up the second book, Sweet Possession, and I was sad to say goodbye to the quirky cast of characters I’d grown so fond of. So when I found out that man crazy Brooke was getting her very own book, I was beyond excited. J. Daniels crossing over characters from her Alabama Summer series? It was just icing on the cake.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Lock & Mori by Heather W. Petty
Posted on Thursday, September 17th, 2015 by Aimee

I received this book for free from Simon & Schuster, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Lock & Mori by Heather W. PettyLock & Mori (Lock & Mori, #1) by Heather W. Petty
Series: Lock & Mori #1
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on September 15th 2015
Genres: Mystery & Thriller, Retelling, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 256
Format: ARC, digital ARC
Source: Simon & Schuster, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

In modern-day London, two brilliant high school students, one Sherlock Holmes and a Miss James "Mori" Moriarty, meet. A murder will bring them together. The truth very well might drive them apart.

Before they were mortal enemies, they were much more.

FACT: Someone has been murdered in London's Regent's Park. The police have no leads.

FACT: Miss James "Mori"Moriarty and Sherlock "Lock" Holmes should be hitting the books on a school night. Instead, they are out crashing a crime scene.

FACT: Lock has challenged Mori to solve the case before he does. Challenge accepted.

FACT: Despite agreeing to Lock's one rule--they must share every clue with each other--Mori is keeping secrets.

OBSERVATION: Sometimes you can't trust the people closest to you with matters of the heart. And after this case, Mori may never trust Lock again.

This book review is part of The Book Geek’s Genre Spotlight. It’s where we explore and choose one of the myriad genres. We’ll showcase it by having each Book Geek read and review at least one, but possibly a few books belonging to that month’s chosen genre. 

As we fall into September, our spotlight is on Mystery & Thrillers!

Read more… »

One StarOne Star

The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy Reichert
Posted on Sunday, September 6th, 2015 by Angela

The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy ReichertThe Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy E. Reichert
Published by Gallery Books on July 21st 2015
Genres: General, Love & Romance
Pages: 318
Format: ARC, digital ARC
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

YOU'VE GOT MAIL meets HOW TO EAT A CUPCAKE in this delightful novel about a talented chef and the food critic who brings down her restaurant—whose chance meeting turns into a delectable romance of mistaken identities.

In downtown Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Lou works tirelessly to build her beloved yet struggling French restaurant, Luella’s, into a success. She cheerfully balances her demanding business and even more demanding fiancé…until the morning she discovers him in the buff—with an intern.

Witty yet gruff British transplant Al is keeping himself employed and entertained by writing scathing reviews of local restaurants in the Milwaukee newspaper under a pseudonym. When an anonymous tip sends him to Luella’s, little does he know he’s arrived on the worst day of the chef’s life. The review practically writes itself: underdone fish, scorched sauce, distracted service—he unleashes his worst.

The day that Al’s mean-spirited review of Luella’s runs, the two cross paths in a pub: Lou drowning her sorrows, and Al celebrating his latest publication. As they chat, Al playfully challenges Lou to show him the best of Milwaukee and she’s game—but only if they never discuss work, which Al readily agrees to. As they explore the city’s local delicacies and their mutual attraction, Lou’s restaurant faces closure, while Al’s column gains popularity. It’s only a matter of time before the two fall in love…but when the truth comes out, can Lou overlook the past to chase her future?

Set in the lovely, quirky heart of Wisconsin, THE COINCIDENCE OF COCONUT CAKE is a charming love story of misunderstandings, mistaken identity, and the power of food to bring two people together.

3 teacups?

I struggled with rating The Coincidence of Coconut Cake because my opinion depends on how I categorize the book.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarHalf a Star

Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter
Posted on Wednesday, September 2nd, 2015 by Brandi

Pretty Girls by Karin SlaughterPretty Girls by Karin Slaughter
Published by William Morrow on September 29th 2015
Genres: Mystery & Thriller
Pages: 592
Format: digital ARC
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Sisters. Strangers. Survivors.

More than twenty years ago, Claire and Lydia's teenaged sister Julia vanished without a trace. The two women have not spoken since, and now their lives could not be more different. Claire is the glamorous trophy wife of an Atlanta millionaire. Lydia, a single mother, dates an ex-con and struggles to make ends meet. But neither has recovered from the horror and heartbreak of their shared loss—a devastating wound that's cruelly ripped open when Claire's husband is killed.

The disappearance of a teenage girl and the murder of a middle-aged man, almost a quarter-century apart: what could connect them? Forming a wary truce, the surviving sisters look to the past to find the truth, unearthing the secrets that destroyed their family all those years ago . . . and uncovering the possibility of redemption, and revenge, where they least expect it.

Welcome to The Book Geek’s monthly feature, affectionately called The Genre Spotlight. It’s where we explore and choose one of the myriad genres. We’ll showcase it by having each Book Geek read and review at least one, but possibly a few books belonging to that month’s chosen genre.

We’re hoping to expand our reading horizons to genre’s we haven’t or have barely read, and, hopefully, usher in gems our lives have been missing out on.

As we fall into September, our spotlight is on Mystery & Thrillers!

description

Why hasn’t anyone told me about Karin Slaughter before? I mean, really. The record-breaking slump that has mercilessly held on to me all year is gone! Finally. Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston
Posted on Saturday, August 29th, 2015 by Aimee

I received this book for free from Disney, Disney Hyperion in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Thousand Nights by E.K. JohnstonA Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston
Published by Disney Hyperion on October 6th 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Fantasy & Magic, Fiction, Retelling, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: ARC, digital ARC
Source: Disney, Disney Hyperion
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Lo-Melkhiin killed three hundred girls before he came to her village, looking for a wife. When she sees the dust cloud on the horizon, she knows he has arrived. She knows he will want the loveliest girl: her sister. She vows she will not let her be next.

And so she is taken in her sister's place, and she believes death will soon follow. Lo-Melkhiin's court is a dangerous palace filled with pretty things: intricate statues with wretched eyes, exquisite threads to weave the most beautiful garments. She sees everything as if for the last time.But the first sun rises and sets, and she is not dead. Night after night, Lo-Melkhiin comes to her and listens to the stories she tells, and day after day she is awoken by the sunrise. Exploring the palace, she begins to unlock years of fear that have tormented and silenced a kingdom. Lo-Melkhiin was not always a cruel ruler. Something went wrong.

Far away, in their village, her sister is mourning. Through her pain, she calls upon the desert winds, conjuring a subtle unseen magic, and something besides death stirs the air.

Back at the palace, the words she speaks to Lo-Melkhiin every night are given a strange life of their own. Little things, at first: a dress from home, a vision of her sister. With each tale she spins, her power grows. Soon she dreams of bigger, more terrible magic: power enough to save a king, if she can put an end to the rule of a monster.

They were burning up, and they didn’t even know they were afire.

An elegantly written novel with a lovely story, A Thousand Nights is a book perfect for all readers looking for an engrossing read.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Sustained by Emma Chase
Posted on Thursday, August 27th, 2015 by Angela

Sustained by Emma ChaseSustained (The Legal Briefs, #2) by Emma Chase
Published by Gallery Books on August 25th 2015
Genres: Family, Love & Romance, Romance
Pages: 272
Format: ARC, digital ARC
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

A knight in tarnished armor is still a knight.

When you’re a defense attorney in Washington, DC, you see firsthand how hard life can be, and that sometimes the only way to survive is to be harder. I, Jake Becker, have a reputation for being cold, callous, and intimidating—and that suits me just fine. In fact, it’s necessary when I’m breaking down a witness on the stand.

Complications don’t work for me—I’m a “need-to-know” type of man. If you’re my client, tell me the basic facts. If you’re my date, stick to what will turn you on. I’m not a therapist or Prince Charming—and I don’t pretend to be.

Then Chelsea McQuaid and her six orphaned nieces and nephews came along and complicated the ever-loving hell out of my life. Now I'm going to Mommy & Me classes, One Direction concerts, the emergency room, and arguing cases in the principal's office.

Chelsea’s too sweet, too innocent, and too gorgeous for her own good. She tries to be tough, but she’s not. She needs someone to help her, defend her…and the kids.

And that — that, I know how to do.

Emma Chase has topped herself. I never thought I’d say this but I loved Sustained more than Tangled, and that’s saying a lot. In my opinion it’s been a rather mediocre year for romances. There have been several 2015 releases I’ve enjoyed, but only a handful that I’ve absolutely loved. And even then there’s usually something I find fault with. Maybe there’s a dreaded case of insta-love in the beginning. The ending is too rushed. The plot is a bit too predictable. You get the picture. But this book? I wouldn’t change a thing about this book. It’s absolute perfection and my favorite book of 2015 so far.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Unblocked – Episode Five by Marni Mann
Posted on Tuesday, August 25th, 2015 by Angela

Unblocked – Episode Five by Marni MannUnblocked - Episode Five (Timber Towers Series Book 5) by Marni Mann
Published by Booktrope on August 19th 2015
Genres: Erotica, Love & Romance, Romance
Format: ARC, digital ARC
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Derek Block needs to protect those he cares about.
Frankie Jordan fears the loss of those she loves.
Darkness drives them.
But could it drive them apart?
This is Episode Five, the final Episode in the Timber Towers Series.

This is the 5th and final episode in the Tower Timbers series and it’s hard to say goodbye to these characters I’ve grown to love. Derek Block has been an unexpected dirty talking fantasy inducer from the very first book. Who knew I’d find flannel so sexy or that I’d be shopping for a pink ivory door? Frankie is one lucky lady. But I digress.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Social Geeks



 
Geek Tube

 
The Bloggers
Hi! I'm Emily May but feel free to call me Emily. I'm a book lover, beta-reader, and Politics graduate from the North of England.

Hey there! I'm Brandi; I'm a Navy veteran, Army wife, mother, feminist and book lover! My go-to genre would have to be Urban Fantasy, but any fiction is game really.

Read more about us?
Instageek
Following
The Readers Den
Cuddlebuggery
The Midnight Garden
Great Imaginations
The Nocturnal Library
For the Love of Words
Rose Petals
The Broke and the Bookish
Sufficiently Distracted
Xpresso Reads
The Social Potato
Deadly Darlings
Ivy Book Bindings
The YA Kitten
The Book Nookery
It's a Books World
previous post: Captive Prince by C.S. Pacat