Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke
Posted on Wednesday, March 30th, 2016 by Emily May

Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve TucholkeWink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke
Published by Penguin on March 22nd 2016
Genres: Young Adult
Pages: 256
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Every story needs a hero. Every story needs a villain. Every story needs a secret.
Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.
What really happened? Someone knows. Someone is lying.
For fans of Holly Black, We Were Liars, and The Virgin Suicides, this mysterious tale full of intrigue, dread, beauty, and a whiff of something strange will leave you utterly entranced.

“We were like the three Fates, weaving the story together, threads of gold, red, and midnight blue. There would be wolves and tricks and lies and cunning and vengeance in our story. I would make sure of it.”

Read more… »

One StarOne Star

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke (editor)
Posted on Sunday, November 1st, 2015 by Chantal

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke (editor)Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by Stefan Bachmann, Leigh Bardugo, Kendare Blake, A. G. Howard, Jay Kristoff, Marie Lu, Jonathan Maberry, Danielle Paige, Carrie Ryan, Megan Shepherd, Nova Ren Suma, McCormick Templeman, April Genevieve Tucholke, Cat Winters
Published by Dial Books on August 18th 2015
Genres: Horror, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Lois Duncan, and Daphne Du Maurier comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best writers of YA thrillers and horror 

A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea’s April Genevieve Tucholke.

Each story draws from a classic tale or two—sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not—to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any reader looking for a thrill.

What a fantastic anthology! Loved it. Some of the stories were phenomenal and there was only one I actively disliked. Overall, I’m very impressed with how original and strange some of these stories were. I feel like the authors really dared to do something different here. Although none of these short stories truly scared me, I still found them to be creepy and eerie. If you’re in the mood for something fitting for Halloween, definitely pick this one up.

Read more… »

One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

Social Geeks



 
Geek Tube

 
The Bloggers
Hi! I'm Emily May but feel free to call me Emily. I'm a nerdy, book-loving Politics graduate from the North of England.

Hey there! I'm Brandi; I'm a Navy veteran, Army wife, mother, feminist and book lover! My go-to genre would have to be Urban Fantasy, but any fiction is game really.

Read more about us?
Instageek
Following
The Readers Den
Cuddlebuggery
The Midnight Garden
Great Imaginations
The Nocturnal Library
For the Love of Words
Rose Petals
The Broke and the Bookish
Sufficiently Distracted
Xpresso Reads
The Social Potato
Deadly Darlings
Ivy Book Bindings
The YA Kitten
The Book Nookery
It's a Books World
previous post: The Anatomical Shape of a Heart by Jenn Bennett